Colorado Agricultural Experiment Station 

Office in Shepardson, Room 121
(970) 491-5371

Agricultural research has been part of Colorado State University (CSU) since the institution’s beginning. In 1888, the Colorado General Assembly established the Colorado Agricultural Experiment Station (CAES) as the contributor to the federally-created state agricultural experiment station system established by the Hatch Act, currently encompassing all fifty states and United States territories.

The CAES is an integral part of CSU and a unit within the College of Agricultural Sciences. The Colorado Agricultural Experiment Station creates and disseminates knowledge related to agriculture and natural resources with the overarching goal of enhancing economic viability and environmental sustainability in ways that are socially acceptable.  Further, the CAES applies this knowledge to solving practical problems of producers and consumers. 

The CAES supports faculty, staff, and students across CSU who conduct research on crop and livestock production, food systems, and natural resources problems. Our research is conducted in Fort Collins in seven of eight colleges, in more than 15 academic departments, and at nine off-campus research centers located throughout the state. The CAES is not a place but rather is an administrative umbrella that oversees research programs taking place on campus and at seven research centers across Colorado. These research centers are the Agricultural Research, Development and Education Center (ARDEC) near Fort Collins, the Arkansas Valley Research Center in Rocky Ford, the Eastern Colorado Research Center in Akron, the Plainsman Research Center in Walsh, the San Luis Valley Research Center in Center, the Southwestern Research Center in Yellow Jacket, and the Western Colorado Research Center with locations near Orchard Mesa, Roger's Mesa, and Fruita.

Agricultural research programs include the traditional areas of producing and processing food products such as wheat, beef, potatoes, fruits, and vegetables, as well as discovering how foods and diets influence human nutrition and health, new kinds of textiles we wear, the ornamental plants and gardens we enjoy, and sustainable use of rangelands where high-quality water comes from and which support grazing livestock and wildlife.

The CAES partners with CSU Extension, industry, schools, and any others who can help get new information and technologies into the hands of those who need it.

Colorado State Forest Service 

State Office is located at the Foothills Campus, Building 1050
(970) 491-6303

The Colorado State Forest Service (CSFS) is a service and outreach agency of the Warner College of Natural Resources and provides staffing for the Division of Forestry within the Colorado Department of Natural Resources. Headquartered in Fort Collins and with 19 offices throughout the state, the mission of the CSFS is to achieve stewardship of Colorado’s diverse forest environments for the benefit of present and future generations. The CSFS is organized into four management areas and is staffed by approximately 105 full and part-time employees and more than 30 seasonal employees. The CSFS administers forest management programs and projects, treating thousands of acres of forestland every year to achieve the goals of landowners, communities, and governmental agencies to improve forest health and resilience to wildfire, climate change, insects, and diseases. To facilitate reforestation and to increase the utilization of Colorado wood, the CSFS grows and distributes seedling trees and shrubs for conservation purposes and assists the forest products harvesting and manufacturing industries. The CSFS also provides forestry education and outreach to the citizens of Colorado, engaging over 320 volunteers in the accomplishment of its mission.

Colorado Water Institute 

  • Office in Engineering Building, Room E102
  • (970) 491-6308

The Colorado Water Institute is a research and outreach agency within the CSU Office of Engagement that connects the water information needs of the state to research faculty and graduate students at CSU as well as other public universities in Colorado. The Institute provides research grants to faculty and students, as well as internship opportunities and scholarships. The Institute provides water-related information to the citizens of Colorado via the web, publications, informal and formal education, and events.

Environmental Learning Center 

  • Offices in Natural Resources Building, Rooms 218 and 223
  • Program site at 2400 South County Road 9 Ft. Collins, CO 80525
  • (970) 491-1661

Staff of the Environmental Learning Center (ELC) work to connect people with nature by facilitating educational, inclusive and safe experiences in the natural environment. The ELC provides a diversity of programs to groups throughout the community. This includes public schools, scout troops, CSU groups, service organizations, and many others.


Offices in University Square, Room 102
(970) 491-6281

Colorado State University Extension (CSUE) provides information and education that encourages the application of research-based knowledge in response to local, state, and national issues affecting individuals, families, businesses, and communities of Colorado.

Extension in Colorado was established in 1913 when counties created programs. In 1914 federal legislation created the Extension system nationwide. It was accepted by Colorado’s General Assembly in 1915, and reaffirmed in 1979. It is funded by county, state, and federal appropriations. Extension also functions as the educational arm of the U.S. Department of Agriculture, through each state’s land grant university. CSUE has 54 off-campus offices and serves 62 of Colorado’s 64 counties.

Extension’s outreach educational objectives fall within the scope of their land-grant mission and address high-priority needs and issues in Colorado in the broad areas of agriculture and natural resources, family and consumer sciences, 4-H youth development, and community development. Ongoing program teams focus on critical areas including: strong families, healthy homes; nutrition, health, and food safety; 4-H and youth development; community economic development; natural resources—including water and alternative energy; and competitive and sustainable agriculture systems.